pronounsMale
1,702written posts
Mouseearned bits
offlinecurrently
Mouse
Part of the Furniture
Mouse Avatar
where fears and lies melt away.
In the 9+ years that I've been a part of the Roleplay Community, I've noticed that a majority of the time I've been playing the same character archtype. The, and I really hate this term mind you, edgy and moody character with attitude problems. Has had a horrible past and I very, well, 'edgy' in terms of his abilities and just overall theme. And I'm not saying there is anything wrong with those types of characters, obviously, I've been making them for 9 years. You just reach a certain point where your tired of that type of character.

My problem is that every time I try to step away from that comfort zone I find myself getting nervous. I end up either feeling like the character I've made is less devolped or weaker. Sometimes I even feel like said character I've created that isn't of that edgy archtype is annoying to the people I'm writing with. Or that I'm trying too hard to make the character the opposite of what I'm used. So I end up going back to what I'm comfortable or familiar with. Which then prevents me from growing as a writer.

So, I'm looking for advice on how to go about getting away from that familiar space. What do you guys do when it comes to writing these non edgelord characters? Because as it's been going I've seen myself getting fatigue from basically playing the same type of character for the past 9 or so years.

I feel like that's a large part of the reason I don't quite feel like I 'click' with any of the sites I join anymore like I used to.
last edit on Aug 12, 2018 7:34:05 GMT by Mouse
0written posts
Deletedearned bits
offlinecurrently
Deleted
Deleted Avatar