pronounsshe/her
535written posts
ninelieearned bits
offlinecurrently
ninelie
Part of the Furniture
ninelie Avatar
VOLITION [Medium: Success]
I'm seeing a big trend lately where it's required that you can only use codes or templates that a site provides for you, versus being able to use templates from outside resources, or if it's a personal one you've coded.

Personally, I can see pros and cons for both sides, but I want to know what the community thinks about this. I've seen my fair share where posting templates either use same div names that clashes with the site's skin, or just simply just clashes due to the mysteries of HTML/CSS liking to get funky once in a while... but as a coder myself I can see how being forced to use site templates can stifle my creativity (although I'm leaning more towards the path of laziness lately... if everything's pre-coded for me already then I don't have to worry about the aesthetics and get right into what matters).

Anyway, yeah. Would you join a site that forces you to use their own templates? Or not? Love to hear people's thoughts on this.
phantom of the black parade
pronounsshe / her pronouns
4,237written posts
Kuroyaearned bits
offlinecurrently
Kuroya
Part of the Furniture
Kuroya Avatar
at this, the world's end, do we cast off tomorrow~!
personally, i find mandatory site templates to be a massive turn-off. while it's not something that would be a hard deal-breaker for me, if i was on the fence about a site already, it would definitely be a big factor that would push me to xing it out.